[travel] why not.

I got the question “WHY Mongolia?” quite often when I told all of my friends, family, co-workers and strangers about my summer plans to Mongolia. 3 weeks in a landlocked country. I really can’t think of a reason NOT to travel. I personally don’t understand people that don’t travel. My automatic reaction to anyone that questions anywhere I chose to go, is “Why not? Do I need a reason to go and learn about another culture?”

Some people travel for fun. I travel to learn. It is amazing how much you learn about yourself when you travel. Especially when you travel by yourself. You learn about other cultures. It opens you up to many ideas about life, love, and food. You can’t help but bring back a part of the country with you. Each country is so special in its own way.

My opinion is that you haven’t lived unless you have traveled. Have you lived?

*

I am also a major foodie. I love food. I will try anything and everything. And when I say that, I really mean everything. Crickets, all day. Durian, tastes fine. Stinky Tofu, YUM. Horse milk, drink it up. You name it, I will eat it.

Airag? Fermented horse milk…with alcohol….ya, let’s have some.

One of the biggest pet peeves I have is when someone goes to another country, tries their food with a face that already says that they hate it. Food is one of the wonders of the world that everyone can relate with. Every place has their comfort food.  Some people might think that neon orange mac and cheese that you eat every night is beyond disgusting compared to free range deep fried spiders. To each their own but you can’t hate something that you know nothing about.

Open your mind. When you live life with such a narrow perpective you just cheat yourself from the world.

cheers and happy traveling.

(now go somewhere!)

mao.

Leave a Reply

