[daily prompt] day 37: Call Me, Maybe

IMG_3764Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between? 

My relationship with my phone is a love hate relationship.  Phones are not for calling people, its for connecting people. With my friends and family around the world, I have access to all the social outlets. Phone make your life so easy….(some see it as complicated)…but for me, it is my mini laptop. I carry around two phones. One is an Australian phone and one is my Japanese iPhone that I use when I have wifi [Japan and their crazy locked phones].

But it also keeps people from communicating with people IN PERSON. You often see people sitting at a table waiting for their meal but instead of the personal interaction with each other, they would rather and more comfortably keep their eyes on their phones. I am guilty of it at times.

Next time you are having a dinner with friends. Have everyone put their phones screen down on the table in front of them. The first person to pick it up has to pay the tab. But the game keeps going, if another person picks up their phone, they split the tab. If the same person picks up their phone again, they pay for two thirds of the tab.

This keeps you in a live conversation. Even with the awkward silence, it is still more personal than through your phone.

cheers and happy talking.

mao.

Leave a Reply

