[daily] day 157: Happy Birthday Mommy

To the most gorgeous person inside and out.

 

Hello Mama. Sorry this is late. Bad internet connection and the beautiful beach makes it hard to sit down and write. But here it goes. 

As I become an independent woman, growing up and taking responsibility of myself, I am always reminded of the many lessons you have taught me throughout the years. I am amazed by the passion you have for us, your kids.

Sure, most kids think their mothers are the best but Mommy, you are one amazing woman.

I want you to know that I appreciate everything you have done for us. Moving to the States might have been the best thing that has happened to me. Not only do I have the ridiculously strong Japanese foundation in me but I also have my liberal independent mind from the States and it is all because of your choice to move.  I am also glad you chose to live in the magnificent city of Seattle instead of Hawaii…..I would be a surfing beach bum…I’m sure. Haha.

 

You are my rock. The one person that has always been there for me. Always. I am so thankful that you are such a strong person. I never took notice when I was younger at all the hardships you went through to get us to where we are now. I am amazed at everything you did in order to provide the best life for us.

A single mother of two, that didn’t know very much English, getting her kids into school, going to college herself, studying, making us packed lunches every day, providing us with so many opportunities.

Not everyone can say that they went camping, road trips, vacations, ballet classes, morning swim lessons, piano classes, afterschool programs, science camps, summer camps, the best birthday parties at the pool and so much more.

 

I just want to say thank you Mommy. I love you with all my heart.

 Image

Your daughter,

Mao. 

Leave a Reply

